20 December 2008
Ohio CHL Renewal
On Jan. 8, 2004, former Ohio Governor Taft signed HB 12, authorizing Ohio sheriffs to issue licenses allowing private citizens to carry concealed handguns.

Four years have passed since the first of us obtained our concealed carry licenses, and we are approaching our first renewal. As you read through this, the process for renewal is almost identical as our initial application procedure. There are some things we need to keep in mind when we renew our licenses.

I am sure there will be many questions about the renewal process. All of the information contained below plus other specifics for new Ohio residents, active and retired Law Enforcement and Military personnel, can be found on several Sheriff's Department web sites, along with other internet sources.

The Ohio Concealed Carry Handgun License can be renewed 90 days prior to the expiration date, and no later than 30 days after the expiration date that is printed on your license. If you fail to apply for renewal within this 120 day period, the Conceal Carry Handgun License will expire and will no longer be valid.

You will need to fill out the renewal application. This is available your Sheriff's Department, or at the Ohio Attorney General's website. After you have the application, clearly print all required information on the application. (Note: the Attorney General's web site contains an interactive version of the application which is good for those of us with bad handwriting!) Do not sign the application until told to do so. Failure to include all requested information will result in the Sheriff's Office refusing to accept the application. Be sure list phone numbers on your application where you can be reached when your license is ready to be picked up.

Remember your Firearms Training Certificate? In addition to your application, you must have a copy of your Certificate that shows you have completed the course within the past six years, and contain your name as well as the name and phone number of the instructor and/or location where you received the training.

Once again, you will need to complete the "State of Ohio Application for a License to Carry a Concealed Handgun Form", and attach a legible copy of your original competency certification (not older than six years), renewed competency certification (not older than six years) to the application.

Another passport photo? Yes! A color photograph of your face (2" x 2" max size) taken within the past thirty days will be kept with your application and will not be returned to you.

What else do I need to know? Since the passage of HB347 last year, the renewal cost has increased to $55, up $10 from our initial license, but the renewal period has been changed to five years instead of four.

From : Ohioans for Concealed Carry

Labels: ,

 
posted by Johnnyreb™ at 1:52 PM | Permalink |


0 Comments:


Post a Comment

~ back home
Links to this post

Links to this post:

Create a Link

 Subscribe in a reader




Reloading supplies

Thanks for stopping by ... John Cresanto Jr
Powered by FeedBurner MySpace Tracker